Ian Olan - Chairman

Ian Olan is Chief Operating Officer for Auckland UniServices. Most recently Ian was General Manager, Group Shared Services for Fletcher Building, after being Group Transformation Manager. Prior to this he was a Divisional CFO with Fisher & Paykel Healthcare for the global Obstructive Sleep Apnoea division for five years. Ian brings over 20 years’ experience in various business improvement, transformation, and finance roles, after starting his career with PwC in Mexico.

Ian has an MBA and Bachelor’s degree in Public Accounting and Auditing from Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla. He is a chartered accountant and a fellow member of CPA.

Emile Va'afusuaga - Vice Chairman

Emile Va’afusuaga is a transition tertiary teacher with the Te Ara Poutama Centre, Rosehill Special School. Prior to this, he was a RTLB manager for the MOE service and a past board member for the National RTLB service. He has a Master of Education (Hons) from the University of Auckland and is currently an advisory board member (Pasifika) with Counties Manukau East Police. He is an original CMRL board member from inception. Emile is passionate about education, community engagement and growing the game.

A former representative player for league, tag & touch (NZ and overseas), he played for Papatoetoe, Mangere East and Otahuhu.

Colin Groves - Independent Director 

Colin is an entrepreneurial business strategist, marketer, business mentor and investor. Colin is a Chartered Accountant and has extensive corporate governance experience.

Originally from Cornwall, for the past 25 years, Colin has worked for the Tetra Laval Group, heading M&A. Colin is a professional director, who sits on and chairs various NZ and UK Boardsranging across investments companies, start-ups, high-performance sports, and agri-tech companies.

A passionate supporter of League and Union, Colin represented England at School Boy and Colt levels.

Sally Va'afusuaga - Elected Director

Sally Va'afusuaga comes from a family who love the game of rugby league, born and raised in South Auckland; attended schools in Otara and Otahuhu and is a former league and union player for the Otahuhu clubs. This is Sally's first year on the senior club committee for the Otahuhu Leopards in 2018.

Sally is a Primary school trained teacher at Point England School in East Auckland since the year 2000, currently the full time sports and physical education coordinator.  She is a member of the Auckland Primary Schools Rugby Union Association. Manager for the Auckland U13 rugby union representative boys team from 2015 to present day and has past experience with establishing the Fetū Samoa women’s rugby league team to compete at the 2008 World Cup tournament. Sally returned briefly to manage the team to win the 2018 Cabramatta 9’s women’s grade and a silver medal placing at the 2018 Commonwealth Nines Champs in Brisbane.  She loves family, summer-time and pastries.

Alf Filipaina - Elected Director

Alf Filipaina is Samoan, Maori and has lived in Mangere for over 57 years. He comes from a league family who all started playing rugby league for the Mighty Mangere East Hawks, Alf says "rugby league is in my blood". When Alf first started as a director on the board he was employed as the Pacific Liaison Officer for the Counties Manukau Police. In 2016 Alf retired from the Police after serving over 38 years and he is now currently wokring as a councillor on the Auckland Council, representing the south for the past 16 years. Alf aims to be an effective director for all and says community is at the heart of everything that he advocates for.

Willie Maea - Independent Director

Willie Maea previously worked for 12 years in the Counties Police HQ as the Pacific Coordinator (alongside Alf Filipaina) finishing in 2015, when he spent 1 year as the Regional Sports Coordinator looking after the Otara/Papatoetoe Region for Counties Manukau Sports finishing this role in 2016. Willie is now currently the Northern Regional Manager for New Zealand Institute of Sport looking after the Auckland and Hamilton Regions. He is the Convenor for the Otara Sports Awards, which held their inaugural Awards in 2017 inducting League Greats Tawera Nikau and Ruben Wiki into its Hall of Fame. Willie is the Chairman of the Otara Rugby League Football Club and has been in this role  since 2012, he is also a member of the ARL Premiership Review Committee in the years 2017 - 2018, the Chairman of Samoa Tag since 2015 and also the Chairman of OsTag which has been looking after Counties Manukau Tag National Teams since 2013.